Would you like cinnamon in your waffles?

1236062_10200800260865357_318243282_n

Tonight, I had the privilege of having ‘breakfast for dinner’ with the girls of Saving Grace.  When we arrived We were greeted at the door and asked to select from a variety of menu choices such as waffles, pancakes, bacon, and sausage.  Along with those choices were a long list of additions to choose from like blueberries, pecans, and cinnamon.

1174944_10151603570112338_173796327_n
I completed my menu and kindly submitted it.  My requests were modest and as the young woman in the kitchen reviewed my order she spoke to me from the kitchen as I sat at the table and asked if I would like cinnamon in my waffles.  It was a simple question, but sent my heart in motion.

998482_10200800259665327_1794237779_n

I am sure the Holy Spirit was whispering in my heart through her as if she were saying “I make really good waffles full of spices and nuts and while I am sure you would be happy with a simple no frills waffle, how about we kick it up a notch and blow your socks off with some flavor?”

1238862_10200800256345244_740646730_n

I was overwhelmed at that point.  My mind raced back as i recalled the state of the building when we first toured.  Ceilings were on the floor, and we climbed in and around random piles of furniture and debris.  I remember saying in my heart “we can make this work just like it is”.  As we shared the vision of Saving Grace God began to bring people into our lives to serve on our founding board to develop a plan. Others worked tirelessly to help us renovate and repair the space.  Fearless donors saw the vision and gave generously to give us the resources to create a beautiful space for these girls to dwell and grow in.  The finished product was far more than I imagined.   Today I am watching further improvements nearing completion and I am just in awe of His mighty work.  Want some cinnamon with that?

Tonight I heard the laughter I had always hoped would fill these halls.  Not timid giggles, but hearty laughter between young women who know each other and want everyone to have a little extra something out of life.  It is this kind of joy that provides the yeast needed to impact a home, a heart, and a community.  Cinnamon anyone?

For those of you who serve or support Saving Grace, be proud of these fearless young women for who they are and where they are going.  God is at work in these hearts and strongholds of darkness are being replaced with pillars of His light.  Mmmm Cinnamon!

Do I want some cinnamon with my waffles?  You bet I do!

1148854_10200800254865207_337765503_n

So the next time you get a chance, don’t bother with the bland … go all in… nuts, sprinkles, cinnamon and some laughter.  After all our Good Father wants us to enjoy all He has to offer!

I John 3:1

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.

1175368_10200800256985260_351191711_n

Kent Shaffer – for Saving Grace

One thought on “Would you like cinnamon in your waffles?

Leave a Reply

